Scott, Hiram D.
Maine native Hiram Daniel Scott (1823-1886) was another of those sailors who jumped ship in Monterey and ended up in Santa Cruz County. Scott arrived in 1846, left for the gold mines in 1848, and apparently found some of the shiny stuff, for he came back to buy Rancho San Agustin from Joseph Majors in 1850. Scott immediately began building a home for himself and his family, who followed him to California in 1853. The Scott House still stands as a museum in the city of Scotts Valley, one of the oldest wood-frame structures in the county. Members of the Hiram Scott family also lived in downtown Santa Cruz.
- John L. Chase, The Sidewalk Companion to Santa Cruz Architecture (4th ed. 2023), Chapter Five, item (3), page 134.